Share this post







The Marilyn Stafford FotoReportage Award, facilitated by FotoDocument and supported generously by Nikon UK, is granted annually to a professional female photographer towards the completion of a compelling and cohesive documentary photo essay, which addresses an important social, environmental, economic or cultural issue, whether local or global. The overall winner is awarded a grant of £2,500. All shortlisted applicants are featured on the FotoDocument website and will be publicised by both FotoDocument and Nikon. The Award is reserved solely for women documentary photographers working on projects that are intended to make the world a better place and which may be unreported / under-reported. They should, in part, showcase positive solutions to any issues raised in order to contribute to constructive photojournalism, in line with the aims of FotoDocument and the wishes of Marilyn Stafford. Women from any stage of their careers are welcome to apply, whether emerging, mid-career or established. They must already have started the photo essay for which they are seeking funding and able to show work in progress. In addition, they must already have completed at least one other documentary photo essay to demonstrate track record. Entrants must be over 18, they may be any nationality and based anywhere in the world. It is free to submit.

Eligibility for the Award

  • This Award is for female documentary photographers / including those identifying as female.
  • Submissions are welcomed from emerging, mid-career and established photographers.
  • Photographers must be at least 18 years old, there is no upper age limit.
  • Postgraduate photography students will be considered.
  • Photographers may live anywhere in the world.
  • Applicants who have submitted to us before may submit again with the same project if it has significantly developed from the last submission or they may apply with a new project.
  • Photographers must have obtained necessary model release permissions for their photographs.
  • Applicants must have a valid bank account in the country where they live.

International Panel

Andrea Bruce: Photojournalist, Co-owner NOOR Photo Agency, Nikon Ambassador.
Donna De Cesare: Photojournalist, Associate Professor, University of Texas at Austin.
Nina Emett: Director of FotoDocument, Documentary Photographer, Curator.
Neo Ntsoma: Photojournalist, Founder of Neo Ntsoma Productions.

Guest judge: Natalya Saprunova – Winner of Marilyn Stafford FotoReportage Award 2022.

Honorary judge: Lina Clerke – Marilyn Stafford’s daughter

Submission Process

The only way to submit to the Marilyn Stafford FotoReportage Award 2024 is through our online portal. You will need to create an account with a password so you can save your work and return to it later before final submission.

Good luck – we look forward to reviewing your applications!


Featured photo © Ana Maria Arévalo Gosen – Winner of the Marilyn Stafford FotoReportage Award 2023.