Share this post

Winner of Marilyn Stafford FotoReportage Award


We are delighted to announce that the winner of the Marilyn Stafford FotoReportage Award is: Rebecca Conway

There was widespread agreement among the judges that Rebecca’s photography track record and proposal strongly met all the criteria for the Award.  We are very pleased to be able to support her project “Valley of the Shadow” based on the treatment of civilian trauma (PTSD) in Indian-controlled Kashmir following three decades of separatist insurgency, conflict and violence.

© Rebecca Conway














About Rebecca Conway










Rebecca Conway is a British photo editor currently based in New Delhi, and works on independent photojournalism projects. A former text reporter, she spent six years in Pakistan writing for outlets including Reuters, The           National and humanitarian new organisation IRIN, concentrating on stories stemming from the conflict in Afghanistan, internal displacement and issues affecting women. She moved to India in 2013 when she started creating    her own photography. She is currently focusing on a project in Pakistan, and on this long-term work on PTSD in Kashmir.

Rebecca has received £1,000, 3 x mentoring sessions during the course of completing her photo essay, and at the end of her project her work will be promoted via FotoDocument’s social media channels and published on the website.

Honourable Mentions for Marilyn Stafford FotoReportage Award

We had so many quality applications that it was difficult to select only two runners-up, so three photographers receive Honorable Mentions as follows:


Ranita Roy for her project on child labour and education in India.

Monique Jaques for her project on girls living on the Gaza Strip.

Lynda Gonzalez for her project on Colonias in South Texas.


The work of the runners-up will be promoted via our social media channels and will be published on the FotoDocument website when completed.


Thank you

We would like to extend our sincere thanks to ALL the photographers who submitted applications to the Marilyn Stafford FotoReportage Award – we recognise how much work goes into this process and would like to acknowledge the commitment by all photographers who use documentary photography to tell important, under-reported stories which focus, in part, on solutions to major social or environmental issues.


We would also like to extend our heart-felt thanks to the judges who lent their time, expertise and seasoned eyes to reviewing the applications and helping to select the finalists.

Marilyn StaffordDorothy BohmCelia DaviesMelanie Friend, Donna DeCesareAnna FoxNina Emett, Lina Clerke (Marilyn Stafford’s daughter)


Marilyn Stafford FotoReportage Award Year 1 Short-list:


Alex Potter

Amanda Mustard

Angela Sairaf

Anna Mia Davidson

Betsy Joles

Elisabeth Blanchet

Ingrid Guyon

Julia Rendleman

Lynda Gonzalez

Marilene Ribeiro

Megan Emmerson

Melanie Dornier

Monique Jaques

Natisha Mallick

Ranita Roy

Rebecca Conway

Sabine Van Wechem


For more information about the Year 2 launch, please visit the Awards page here.


We will keep our audiences updated with the development of these exciting photo essays.